

OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION

REVISED MINUTES OF THE JUDICIAL BRANCH AND ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE COMMITTEE

FOR THE MEETING HELD THURSDAY, JUNE 13, 2013

Call to Order:

Chair Janet Abaray called the meeting of the Judicial Branch and Administration of Justice Committee to order at 12:00 p.m.

Members Present:

A quorum was present with Chair Abaray, Vice-chair Fischer, and committee members French, Kurfess, Mulvihill, Murray, Obhof, Saphire, Skindell, and Walinski in attendance.

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the May 9, 2013 meeting of the committee were reviewed and approved.

Presentations and Discussion:

Chair Abaray recognized Attorney Mary Jane Trapp, of Thrasher, Dinsmore & Dolan, LPA, who presented on the history of the Ohio Constitutional Convention.

Chair Abaray next recognized William Weisenberg, assistant executive director of the Ohio State Bar Association, who presented on judicial selection and the 1970s Ohio Constitutional Revision Commission.

Adjournment:

With no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 11:14 a.m.

Approval:	al:
-----------	-----

The minutes of the June 13, 2013 meeting of the Judicial Branch and Administration of Justic
Committee were approved at the July 11, 2013 meeting of the committee.

/s/ Janet Gilligan Abaray	
Janet Gilligan Abaray, Chair	
/s/ Patrick F. Fischer	
Justice Patrick F. Fischer, Vice-chair	